Festivals

Holidays and festivals form the circle of the Jewish year. While celebrating and observing with our community fills an important role, there is also an essential component which we can fulfill at home, especially for our children as we set the example of Jewish worship. Chocolate Seder at Emanuel
 
The festivals in bold below are those that are learned from the Torah and whose observance is based on Shabbat. Each is a day of rest, celebrated with sanctity and joy (with the exception of the holy day of Yom Kippur, our time of deepest introspection).
 
Please note that Festival day and Sabbath observance begins at sunset on the previous evening.  For times, please see foot of home page.
 
5777 • 2016–2017
 
Rosh Hashanah Monday 3 October–Tuesday 4 October 2016
Yom Kippur Wednesday 12 October 2016
Sukkot Monday 17–Sunday 23 October 2016 (days of rest: 1st & 2nd days)
Shemini Atzeret Monday 24 October 2016
Simchat Torah Tuesday 25 October 2016
Chanukah Saturday 24 December 2016–Sunday 1 January 2017
Tu Bishvat Sunday 12 February, 2017
Purim Sunday 12 March, 2017
Pesach Tuesday 11 April – Tuesday 18 April, 2017 (days of rest: 1st, 2nd, 7th & 8th days) -
Yom HaShoah Monday 24 April, 2017
Yom Hazikaron Monday 1 May, 2017
Yom Ha'Atzmaut Tuesday 2 May, 2017
Lag B'Omer Sunday 14 May, 2017
Yom Yerushalayim Wedneday 24 May, 2017
Shavuot Wednesday 31 May - Thursday 1 June, 2017
Tisha B'Av Tuesday 1 August, 2017
Rosh Hashana Wednesday, 21 - Thursday 22 September, 2017
Yom Kippur Friday 29 September - Saturday 30 September, 2017

Join Our Community

Join Our Community

Established in 1938, Emanuel Synagogue is a pluralist community affiliated with the Masorti, Progressive and Renewal movements. We offer a variety of services, programs and activities. We welcome you to join us.

Become a Member
Stay connected to our community!
  • Linkedin page